Three Returns

Suk-Jun Kim (Composer)

Research output: Non-textual formComposition


Three Returns is a part of Three Cities Project by three composers--Pete Stollery, Ross Whyte and Suk-Jun Kim-and uses the sound recordings collected by the team while they were making journeys to three cities, Aberdeen, Bergen, and St. Petersburg.
Three Returns is the composer's revisit to the sound materials, some of which he himself collected and some of which others did. Through the revisit, the composer wanted to become sensitive to what he has experienced, remembered, forgotten, and imagined. To the composer, Three Returns is evidence of both the fragility of our memory and fascination of place--the very reason for which place haunts us.
Three Returns was supported by sound festival and premiered at MUSA, Aberdeen, Scotland, on April 22, 2012.

Original languageEnglish
Media of outputCD
Publication statusPublished - 22 Apr 2012
EventSound Scotland, Three Cities Project - Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Duration: 22 Apr 201222 Apr 2012


  • Electroacoustic Composition


Dive into the research topics of 'Three Returns'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this